What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

becool5

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, I know that this is a very difficult thing to ask given the craziness/uncertanity of the admissions process, but I was wondering if anyone could give some info on what my chances would be given my stats. I plan on applying to all of the DO schools except those that have rigid state residency requirements (I'm a PA resident):

School: University of Pitt
GPA: 3.25
Degree: BA in Anthropology
MCAT: 26

Activities: Resident Assistant (3 years), Golden Key National Honor Society, Phi Sigma Pi National Honor Fraternity, Men's crew, Peer Mentor, Volunteer at Children's Hospital.

I have held numerous jobs in high school and I am working as a high school science teacher right now.

I'm not a graduate student, but I have taken a few post-bac classes at the University of Maryland as a non-matric. My GPA from 5 classes is 3.54.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

u got pretty solid stats to get you into a few DO schools, i wouldn't worry about that. if you consider taking the mcat again, a little higher score could open the door to various allopathic schools as well, if that's what you want. but over all, i think u should be in good shape. gluck!

Hi,
I noticed you didn't list shadowing a DO under activities. That is a requirement at a number of schools. VCOM for example will not make an exception to this requirement. I don't think WVSOM will waive this requirement either.

Also how long have you volunteered at the children's hospital? Is it awhile? Clinical experiences are very very important, expecially when your undergrad GPA is a bit on the low side. Do you have a free health clinic where you could volunteer?

The post grad GPA is good. Was it from taking higher level science courses?