What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frenchyn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this thread seems repetitive, but I just want to get more thoughts and opinions.

Basically I want to know what my chances are.

First, I am a nontraditional student. My cGPA is low 3.8, sGPA is 4.0. First MCAT VR/PS/BS: 4/7/9 --> 20. Second MCAT: VR/PS/BS: 8/9/14 --> 31. I did a medical mission in Honduras and I am planning on going to Haiti beginning of next year. I have been volunteering with an autism organization for more than 1 year. I have two years Registered Nurse experience. I do not have any research experience.

My questions are:
What schools should I apply? I really do not mind to move at all as long as I achieve my dream.
Since I do not have to re-take MCAT now, I plan to do more volunteer. What type of volunteer experience should I get? I do not think I need any more clinical.
Will my first MCAT score hurt my chance a lot?
Is there any other aspects I can do to improve my chance?
Should I shadow a doctor even though I work with doctor everyday?

Any thoughts will be really appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Buy msar online and find schools with median matriculant MCAT and GPA close to yours. Then post your school list

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I am from Arizona. And yes I already bot the MSAR. Will post the list of schools later.

My other question is: Is it too late to apply this year? I did research and the answer is yes...

You will be at a disadvantage if you apply this year.