What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NJHopeful

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear Dr. Henderson,

I am 31 years old. I graduated in 1990 from the University of Vermont with a BA in Environmental Studies, minor in Philosophy. After graduation I worked for 3 years as a lobbyist in NY State on environmental and public health issues. I worked with the AMA and other health groups to pass the NY State Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention law.

My husband and I moved back to my hometown in NJ in 1995. I then worked for a high-technology medical imaging equipment company for two years, where I interacted with Drs and other health professionals giving presentations at professional meetings and conferences both in the US and overseas.

I would finally like to fulfill my dream of becoming a Dr. I would need a post-bacc program. My GPA from college is only 3.2 overall (3.6 in my major). Will this hurt my chances significantly even if I do well in a post-bacc and on the GMAT?

Also, I have a strong volunteer background in teaching English to disadvantaged immigrants with Literacy Volunteers of America. I am currently an email volunteer with Sidelines, an organization that supports women on bedrest due to high-risk pregnancies. I myself had a high-risk pregnancy and last November gave birth to identical twin girls. I am especially interested in pediatrics and the special medical and emotional needs of multiples.

I am most interested in attending the Univ. of Medicine and Dentistry here in NJ. What steps do you think I should take to increase my chances of being accepted when I apply?

Can you also address "shadowing" doctors to obtain clinical experience before applying to med school and when this is typically done. Are there better ways to obtain clinical experience?