What bio classes should I take?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ajh23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman and will have already taken Bio I, both Gen Chems, and both Orgos by the time I start my sophmore year. I plan on taking Physics(algebra based) and Bio 2 in the fall and winter and I want to know what bio classes I should take as well before taking the MCAT(I plan in maybe the winter/spring of junior year).
Here's the list to choose from:
Biochem I and II
Microbiology
Genetics
Physiology

I've heard anatomy is pretty useless on the MCAT which is why I didn't include it in the list. But I've already done some research and I'm getting mixed reviews about which classes to take. I know that the MCAT is different for everybody but I'd just like all your guys' input.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

genetics (intro, not mcb-type) and biochem are both considered to be pretty important for the MCAT. From what i understand physiology can help too, although it'd prolly only be one or two sets on the bio section.
Microbiology and anatomy i think are both unimportant as well, but still interesting and useful classes in the grand scheme of things. tbh every upper div biology related course probably helps somewhat, having a greater understanding overall isn't harmful very often

Members don't see this ad :)
genetics (intro, not mcb-type) and biochem are both considered to be pretty important for the MCAT. From what i understand physiology can help too, although it'd prolly only be one or two sets on the bio section.
Microbiology and anatomy i think are both unimportant as well, but still interesting and useful classes in the grand scheme of things. tbh every upper div biology related course probably helps somewhat, having a greater understanding overall isn't harmful very often

yea prob just about