What did you "do" for your EM Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canuck MD

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering what are some of the things that you did during medical school to help you get into an EM residency (ie. EM research, EM electives etc..)? What would you recommend to others? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I worked as a medical malpractice defense paralegal throughout medical school... and a lot of our cases were EM (just because our insurance client did mostly EM cases). I don't suggest anyone else does it, ebcause it took a lot of time, but it really made me stand out in my application.

I also whoop ass at video games, maybe that's how i got in.

Q, DO

Siginificant research (clinically based) is a huge plus. Being involved in EMS is a huge plus. And doing audition rotations are very much looked positively upon.
Besides board scores, rotation scores, LOR's, and school rank...the above three recommendations are your best bets.

Members don't see this ad :)
During my interviews, there were several items that were consistently brought up...thus...probably helped. First, I was a paramedic for about 10 years prior to medical school. Second, EVERY program spoke of the same LOR written by one of my away rotations. Also, the USMLE step I score.

I would not recommend anyone going out and getting an EMT/Paramedic cert/license after starting med school. Having it before only helps in indirectly showing commitment to EM. Another important way to show this is to join the EM societies as early as you know you are interested in EM. These include, but are not limited to ---> ACEP, EMRA, SAEM, AAEM, and your state chapter of ACEP.

LOR's are important...very important. Work hard on all your rotations, but especially if you know you will be getting an LOR from that rotation.