What do I need to do to get into medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clumpymold

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, I know this sounds like a pretty generic question, but I want this thread to be based on MY statistics and situation.

Some background information:

I'm currently 28, living in Los Angeles, Asian, and male. I grew up in Northern California, went to school at UCSD, and now live in Los Angeles, where I currently work as a part-time tutor/teacher.

I graduated UCSD class of 2000 with a B.S. in Biology and a B.A. in Economics. I never had any intention of going to graduate school so my GPA is very low at, officially, 2.999 (science GPA roughly the same). I have yet to take the MCAT and am currently studying for that now by teaching/tutoring part-time Biology and Chemistry to high school students. I've been doing that now for about 3 years and can say that I understand Biology and Chemistry pretty well now (teaching sure does help :D ).

I only realized recently (about 3 years ago) that I wanted to become a doctor (long story) and that is one of the reasons I started teaching (why not get paid to study, right? :p ).

A little history on my life:

I was born an identical twin with XLA (X-linked agammaglobulinemia). For those that don't know or don't want to search, I'm basically unable to produce antibodies for my body. Because of this, I have to get IvIg (intravenous immunoglobulin) treatment every 2-4 weeks for life. I'm also on antibiotics for life now (been on them the last 10 or so years now) to aid my immune system. It is partly because of this condition (and partly because of the horrendous treatment I've received while in LA) that I want to become a doctor.