What do you think my chances are??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rdahmad

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am still a sophomore in college, but I am worried that the damage I have done to my GPA is severe. First, I have a GPA of around a 2.56, as of my freshman year. I made the stupid mistake of taking 17 credits and taking a job at a lab. I decided it was too much and withdrew late from my Anatomy class. I know that when you withdraw late, you get a WF, which gives you a total of 0 quality points for your GPA. That totally is bothering my sense of confidence. I just completed a term of Bio I and will probably receive a C in it. I have retaken one course and will have to make up that WF by retaking Anatomy. I totally messed up, but I also have outside forces that are affecting my progress, though it doesn't seem I can change them right now. I work as a phlebotomist at a lab (working directly with patients), and I have completed over 100 hours of volunteer work in an ER and on a Chemotherapy floor. I plan on continuing my volunteer work, although with my job and classes, it will not work out at this time. I have wanted to become a doctor (surgeon) ever since I was in 2nd grade, and grades will not be the reason I won't live my dream. I love people, especially helping them when they are most in need. I will opt to go to an international med school if I have to. I would like any advice on where I stand and what I have to do from now on. I know that I will have to try my best from now on (grade wise), and get a really great score on the MCAT. What else is there? Thanks to everyone, I really appreciate it and to the fellow student who referred me here.

Members don't see this ad.