What do you think of this verbal tactic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cubixguy77

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Suppose you are faced with a verbal question and have no inclination toward any of the answer choices whatsoever. In this case, would it be wisest to pick the answer choice that is the longest/most words?

What do you guys think?

...I find the longer answers to be more likely to be correct in TPR's verbals, but I don't know if the same would hold on AAMC tests.

Members don't see this ad.

I just looked AAMC practice test 7 and the answer length has no relation to the correct answer. So I would say your going to have to find a new strategy. There's just no loopholes when it comes to the MCAT.

I dont think that is going to work...I am currently studying from TPR, Kaplan and EK and I dont see any correlation between response length and correctness...If I had like 3 weeks to kill I could probably run this through sas (purely based on all the passages I have done) and see if I am right...but I am pretty sure it will be the same conclusion. Have you tried the EK method?

Okay, so I am convinced I have too much time on my hands. I tried your technique of seeing if the longest answer choice was best on the AAMC materials. I looked at them all (including the Practice Items in Verbal--an old printed booklet).

The longest choice was correct 26.2% of the time, which is so close to random guessing (25%) that I doubt that method will work on the real MCAT. The shortest answer choice was correct 24.7% of the time.

I think you're going to have to do it the old fashion way: reading and thinking.