What do you think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jwilli709

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good morning! I am a senior pre-medical student, majoring in biology with minors in chemistry and latin at my university. I attended a health science high school, where I first gained exposure to a career in medicine. I have a strong Christian conviction to enter the medical field as a physician, and, more specifically, as a cardiologist. Throughout my undergraduate career, I have shadowed physicians at a local volunteer clinic for 2-3 hours weekly since my sophomore year. I have held many leadership positions in clubs, student organizations, and civic organizations on campus and throughout my hometown (ACS, ODK, Tri-Beta, Honor Council, etc). I am a junior deacon and in positions of leadership in my church. I have attended enrichment programs at the Medical College of Georgia (my first choice), and have engaged in research. I have applied to medical school for entry during the fall of 2009, and my overall GPA is 3.5 (A's and B's )and my science GPA is 3.3 (A's, B's, and 1 C in Organic 2). My current MCAT score is 21-T (6VR/7PS/8BS). I have had 1 interview at the Mercer University School of Medicine. I have also applied to 12 other schools, including Meharry and Morehouse. I just feel that my history and academic record are better indications of my ability to study and practice medicine. I have taken Kaplan. I know that the MCAT is important for gauging performance on the USMLE I and II, but I have seen examples of these tests, and there are differences in format and question presentation. What do you think? I look forward to hearing feedback from you all. Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.