what else should I do for extracurriculars?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thisismyacct

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So far I've been volunteering at 1 place for several years now, work experience at a somewhat unique job (especially for a college student), but I don't have much else. My GPA is also pretty low (I intend to do a post-bacc and master's program). I'm gonna start shadowing soon.

What else should I do? what do you guys recommend?

Members don't see this ad.

So far I've been volunteering at 1 place for several years now, work experience at a somewhat unique job (especially for a college student), but I don't have much else. My GPA is also pretty low (I intend to do a post-bacc and master's program). I'm gonna start shadowing soon.

What else should I do? what do you guys recommend?
I highly recommend teaching in some capacity! My only extracurriculars were being a micro lab TA, biology lecture assistant, and chess club member. Ended up getting 13 interviews

Reactions: 1 user
Maybe if your UG has a program where you can be a learning assistant or teaching assistant of some sort would be good for you because of your GPA? It can also help reinforce the info for the DAT

Members don't see this ad :)
Shadowing, amature sport, academic club, non academic club, health related volunteering, dental volunteering, non health related volunteering, paid employment. Tons of stuff you can do. Whatever it is though make sure you enjoy it and can speak passionately about it.

I've recently started volunteering at a homeless shelter, and it's been enjoyable so far. There's always a variety of activities to help with/to do. In addition, the hours work perfectly with my schedule as it's open 24/7, and volunteers are free to jump in almost whenever. So if you have a homeless shelter in your area, I'd definitely recommend volunteering there.