What else to do??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Traign

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in May 2006. Took my Mcat in August 2006 even though I didn't feel prepared, big mistake, and ended up with a 23. I decided not to apply with that score. I then began a job at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia working as an assistant to the non-profit program Reach Out and Read, which is a program I had volunteered with in New York. I retook my MCAT in August 2007 and scored a 31. 9PS, 10BS, 12V. I applied in late October and didn't get my secondaries out til much later also a huge mistake. Because in addition to my non-profit job I started a job with Live Nation Philly and took Anatomy and Physiology I at my local university. I graduated with a GPA of 3.53. I got an A in my anatomy class. I'm currently waitlisted at UMDNJ newark and got rejected from everywhere else. With such short time before applications have to go out again I'm not sure I've done enough. I started working Saturday mornings at my doctor's office and I have my volunteer orientation at the Children's Hospital on Wednesday. I'll have a couple new recommendations too. I'll rewrite my personal statement even though I loved it the first time around. I want to apply early but since my volunteering probably won't start til mid-june can I even put it on my app? I've also lined up some shadowing time with a DO in June and July. Am I doing enough? When should I apply so that its still considered early?

Ugh I just want to get in soo bad. Should I give up my music industry job, even though I really enjoy for the time being and try and find a full time medical related job?

Any advice would be helpful.

Members don't see this ad.