1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

What is Shadowing?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Intrepidation, Jul 29, 2001.

1. Intrepidation

Intrepidation I wear PASG underwear
    7+ Year Member

I am relatively new to the world of 'being a premed' although i have yearned to be a doc for quite some time. From what i have read shadowing is following around a doc for what? one day? What is the sheer purpose of this?
    Does it look good on applications to shadow every field of medicine you can find? I am intrested in Family Medicine, so would it be good to shadow a Family Doc for a day? Do they write letters of recommendation for you? Please fill me in on all the details of shadowing. Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Amy B

Amy B I miss my son so much
    Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I shadowed a pediatric oncologist and his med students a number of times to see what this specialty career would be like. This is my field of interest and I wanted to know if I could handle it emotionally. I know I have a long time before I would be making a choice about my specialty but I wanted to know what it was like.

I would follow the doc around as he vistied his patients. It was quite interesting.

I did put this experience in my personal essay simply to show my ongoing interest in the field of cancer. Cancer is my personal reason behind my drive to become a doctor.

I did not get a recomendation letter for this. I had enough letters for the other volunteering I've done for the past 2 1/2 years.