What is the lifestyle of a doctor really like?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Butwella

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know doctors, especially surgeons, have this stereotype of never being home and having high divorce rates, etc. But I'm not sure if thats actually true.

The only thing holding me back from committing to Med School is that I'm worried my personal life will be nonexistent once I'm a doctor. I'm fully prepared to work longer hours than most of my friends which is understandable but, I don't want to be miserable because I never see my family. Is this stereotype true is not true or does it vary?

Members don't see this ad.

Why don't you do some shadowing and find out from real doctors?

Reactions: 10 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Why don't you do some shadowing and find out from real doctors?
I have talked to a few doctors. Most of them seem pretty happy and have good family lives. However, after doing some research online it seems that some doctors have horrible family lives so I thought maybe my experience was kind of an outliner.

I know doctors, especially surgeons, have this stereotype of never being home and having high divorce rates, etc. But I'm not sure if thats actually true.

The only thing holding me back from committing to Med School is that I'm worried my personal life will be nonexistent once I'm a doctor. I'm fully prepared to work longer hours than most of my friends which is understandable but, I don't want to be miserable because I never see my family. Is this stereotype true is not true or does it vary?

Well, for the most part, medical school + residency will be a total time suck anyway until you become an attending. Can you deal with not having a personal life for 7 to 11 years at the outset?

(yes, I'm speaking very generally, and I know there are exceptions).