What kind of mistakes have you made on placement? HELP!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

19irishvet

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm in 4th year and I've completed 13 weeks of Clinical Placement so far. Today, I injected a cat with 10x the correct dose of Meloxicam...and I am really struggling.
The cat is ok at the moment (being flushed with fluids, and it's a stray cat, not one with an owner), but I am beating myself up badly. The cat could die thanks to my stupidity. I misinterpreted the vet's instructions, and no one checked the dose before I gave it, but I should have known by this stage of my education that it was too much.
My last day of placement at this particular clinic is tomorrow...I don't know if I'll be able to go in. I had a panic attack after the Meloxicam incident and had to go home ☹️

Can anyone share any wisdom? Has anyone ever made a silly mistake on placement?

Members don't see this ad.

Mistake on placement? How about in practice...

Didn't label a syringe as lidocaine because I wasn't planning on setting it down, was waiting for the tech to scrub once and I was going to use as a block. I got called away and set it down. Tech thought it was flush and gave it IV as she was placing the catheter. Dog was fine.

Prescribed a medication as twice a day, calculated the quantity as though it was being given once a day. Client was pissed they had to come pick up the additional medication.

Have caught myself on many other almost mistakes.. including too high doses, too low doses, giving NSAIDs and roids simultaneously, etc.

You WILL make mistakes in practice. And many have made the same mistake that you have. Own up to it, learn from it, learn how to treat that patient now and move along. This will make you a better vet in the long-term.

Reactions: 2 users
Mistake on placement? How about in practice...
Yup! Everyone makes mistakes, on a placement and in practice.