What route should I take with a severely low undergrad GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

undeterred0523

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so I'm new to this forum and I've been reading a lot of threads and am quite ashamed of my history but I'm in desperate need of advice.

Well I am an undergraduate supersenior at a decent state university and my GPA is barely at a 2.0. I've had a tough time through college, not sure of what I wanted to do and facing a lot of personal and family problems. I kept taking science courses throughout college but not because I was interested but rather because it felt like that was what I should be doing. I flunked out of the harder ones and faced a tough time with dismissals. Ideally I should have taken a semester off, but with family and social pressure that option was never approached.

Now my cumulative GPA is completely horrendous, but I've completed almost 120 credits and all my major prereq's (except Orgo because I failed it the first time)

I know the logical thing would be that dont bother pursuing medicine because you cant handle it. However I didnt fail because I coudnt handle it, but rather because I never focused or put my mind to it, and because I was handling many personal problems at home.

So I'm very much serious about pursuing medicine, however I dont want to spend another couple of years just to bring my GPA up and then go to med school.

So any ideas about whats the quickest way for me to get myself into a decent MD program? I would be interested in programs that also offer a BA but that would transfer over some of my credit too. That way I can just finish my BA in the Carribbean and then go directly to the med program.

I dont want to keep unrealistic expectations but at the same time I dont want to pursue a program thats going to pose major difficulties for me afterwords...

Im open to any suggestions. Thanks in advance!