What should I do now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thedarkclover

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN, finally decided to make an account because I need some help with choosing a plan of action: Sorry for the long post.

As a forward, I took the MCAT in August of '12 and got a 23L, and submitted my MD&DO applications through September/October.

Background: I'm currently in my early 20's. I graduated from University with a BSc in Pathophysiology in December of 2012. My undergrad GPA is rough. (2.9 Overall and 3.1 Science).
When I was a Sophomore, my father was in the hospital for an extended period of time and I was required to work while continuing school, which resulted in some sub-par grades (no F's, though). During my last year of my undergrad, I made 4.0 overall which really brought it up from where it was, but it's still not that great.

I originally submitted my MD/DO applications because the physicians I worked with told me I had the specs to make it happen. At the time, I believed them, but since it's now March and I haven't gotten anything but rejections (not from all of my schools, but about half. No interviews.), I'm thinking I should have waited and tried for a masters program first or gotten my grades up/retaken the MCAT.

Since I haven't gotten any interviews/acceptances, I decided to apply to SMPs, post-bacc programs, etc. I've also signed up to take the MCAT again at the end of April and have been doing excellent with my studying thus-far.

Here's what I need help with:
Where do I go from here, assuming I get nowhere with the 2013 application cycle?:confused:
-What SMPs/join programs should I check out? Do I have a shot at any of them?
-What actions should I take to help towards eventually getting into medical school (DO or MD)
-Is going to the Caribbean my only shot at making this happen?
-Should I re-submit my application for the 2013-2014 cycle?

Extracurricular: