What should my next move be?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

orthomyxo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
After a few years of doing other things, I've figured out that medicine is definitely what I want to do. My problem is, I'm totally lost when it comes to figuring out what aspects of my application to work on first. Apologies in advance for the forthcoming novel.

I graduated in 2013 and my cGPA is somewhere around 3.5, sGPA probably a little higher. I have a number of less than stellar grades as a result of being young and dumb, e.g. poor time management, an overloaded schedule, or a combination of both. Something like one D in a sophomore lab course and maybe 3 or 4 Cs (one junior year, a couple senior year when I was dumb enough to take 20 credits). I have no idea if I should be trying to retake courses or looking into special master's programs.

During undergrad I worked a couple part-time jobs and did some clinical volunteering at a community hospital (maybe ~100 hours, not sure). So EC-wise I'm looking pretty weak, at least at that time.

After graduating, I worked without pay for a year doing kidney research ~25 hours/wk in one of the nation's best hospitals. No publications (yet....could potentially be second author when/if my project is finished by someone else) but overall it was a good experience. At this same time I worked a night shift ~30 hours/wk at a DNA sequencing lab and also a weekend job ~16 hours/wk at a pharmacy. I did all this for a little over a year and then did in-vivo medical device research for a little over a year.