what the hell do i do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phattestlewt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
so heres the story

im a freshman at UCI and am currently a bio sci major. I have been doing great in my science classes and very well in my other classes. However, i decided i want to be a non-trad pre-med so that it can free up alot of my time.

Mind you, im not trying to take an "easy" way out, im just relieving some of the stress that will be put on my shoulders eventually with ochems and upper-divs.

Because i am in a UC, i will have to double major in bio sci and something else, just so i can make sure i get priority enrollment in my pre-med classes (becaues of the budget cuts, smaller class sizes =[ ) and when im in my 3rd of 4th year i plan to drop my bio major and finish up my secondary major

with that said

what are some majors/minors that complement a pre-med student. i am interested in African American studies, humanities, i like to read and write and think but i am also open to various ideas and interests. :sleep: sorry for the long email :love:

Members don't see this ad.

If you plan to pursue medical school soon after undergrad, my strong recommendation is to take the classes while you are an undergrad at your home institution. As a biology major, applying as a non-traditional without having pursued another career, you are at a huge disadvantage and here is why: after you graduate you will have to post-bac your classes (which is expensive), not to mention that most formal post-bac programs will not admit you (most require that you have not taken any science. You will have to explain why you were a biology major and did not take the pre-med classes, and this will come under scrutiny.