Aug 28, 2013
FL
Status
Medical Student
I've seen a few questions asked like this before; however, I wanted to get some opinions on my particular situation.

I graduated last Spring and have been keeping busy during my gap year. This past Fall I took an EMT certification course which I completed the term with a 4.0, I'm currently waiting for paperwork to take the licensing exam. I am also volunteering at the local ER four hours/week and working part time roughly 25-30 hours/week.

I have a few interviews coming up after the New Year (both MD and DO), and want to show them that I am still working to better myself. My MCAT is lower than average so I want to show the schools that I am still working to improve my science background and make up the deficits of knowledge that my MCAT score would indicate to them.

I found a biochemistry course at a local college I could take pretty cheap, I was just wondering if that's a beneficial thing to do. I was a neuroscience major at a liberal arts college where biochem wasn't part of the pre-med curriculum when I started there. As such I have never taken it. The class itself is only 3 credits and meets 2 times a week so it is not that time consuming.

What I'm asking is for your opinion on whether or not adcoms will look on this favorably, whether or not it will be beneficial to have this knowledge going into med school (I already have two acceptances), or if it would just be a waste of time that would be better spent relaxing before I go to school. Any opinions or thoughts are welcome.

cabinbuilder

Urgent Care Physician
10+ Year Member
Nov 21, 2005
Texas
Status
Attending Physician
I think it's smart to touch on biochem, depending on the med school it's either really easy or a killer class. If you are already accepted not sure why you are still doing all this extra stuff? I would be working trying to bank my money.

OP
Jdubbss21
Aug 28, 2013
FL
Status
Medical Student