What to do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bubster9

Crown Prince
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with honors from a very well respected LAC with a degreen in political science and philosophy. I have worked for the past few years on Wall Street. I have been toying with the idea of going to medical school, of course I would need to do the pre-reqs and take the MCAT. Is this even doable?

Members don't see this ad.

bubster9 said:
I graduated with honors from a very well respected LAC with a degreen in political science and philosophy. I have worked for the past few years on Wall Street. I have been toying with the idea of going to medical school, of course I would need to do the pre-reqs and take the MCAT. Is this even doable?

You have come to the right place my friend. It is certainly doable and I would highly recommend any program that has a linkage with a medical school. UPenn has one I believe, there are a couple of others, check out the sticky posted at the top of this thread. A buddy of mine used to work for Goldman Sacks in NY and is now a 2nd year surgery resident. He had a degree in economics I believe.

Tooth

bubster9 said:

very much do-able. i didn't work on wall street, but i worked at a consulting firm whose clients were wall street firms. i'm starting med school this fall.

Since I know you all like things quantified...

Transition time: 2 years from quitting job to beginning med school, assuming you do well, and you get in your first time applying (myself and an ibank friend of mine both did it in 2 years, but I met a lot of re-applicants when i was interviewing).
Cost: ~$60k in additional student loans, if not more
Opportunity Cost: don't think about this one