What to Major in for Medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mattmanx001

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an entering freshman at Towson University, and I plan on applying to Medical or Pharmacy school. However, if I don't get in or decide not to pursue medicine or pharmacy, I want a good fallback major that has good career opportunities. I like science, so I want to stick with the field.

My school offers an interdisciplinary B.S. degree program in Molecular Biology, Biochemistry, and Bioinformatics and you choose one of the three (Molecular Biology or Biochemistry or Bioinformatics) to specify in. I plan on either following the interdisciplinary program with the biochemistry track, or just majoring in ACS-certified Chemistry.

My school doesn't have a plain Biochemistry major, and there is no engineering either.

Which one is better for medical/pharmacy and at the same time will have good career opportunities if I continue to graduate school?

Please give me any thoughts, tips, advice, and ideas about it and anything else. Thanks everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an entering freshman at Towson University, and I plan on applying to Medical or Pharmacy school. However, if I don't get in or decide not to pursue medicine or pharmacy, I want a good fallback major that has good career opportunities. I like science, so I want to stick with the field.

My school offers an interdisciplinary B.S. degree program in Molecular Biology, Biochemistry, and Bioinformatics and you choose one of the three (Molecular Biology or Biochemistry or Bioinformatics) to specify in. I plan on either following the interdisciplinary program with the biochemistry track, or just majoring in ACS-certified Chemistry.

My school doesn't have a plain Biochemistry major, and there is no engineering either.