What would you do if you were me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hp2018

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was recently accepted to TUSPM and NYCPM. I’m 28 y.o and a career changer. My 1st path was nutrition. I was initially interested in Osteopathic medicine and was conditionally accepted to PCOM through my post bac with a overall and science 3.3 gpa. However due to a 490 MCAT I was unfortunately not accepted. I studied for a year and a half took the MCAT again and got a 494(I’m never taking it again). I never applied again to DO schools as I didn’t want to waste money with low stats. After considering my other options I started shadowing a podiatrist and I actually really like the field and am interested in treating diabetic patients and integrating my nutrition knowledge one day. My only concern is the cost. I’m already in 100k of student loan debt from undergrad and will be taking on 200k more for podiatry. I actually really like the feild of podiatry I just don’t want to make a bad investment. I’m great with people and actually helped to built up a personal training business and the goal would be to do the same for podiatry. I want autonomy and to practice medicine. Is podiatry a solid choice for me? Do you think I’d be able to Iive a comfortable lifestyle one day and pay off my student loans.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm going to be honest with you: going from Nutrition to DO and now to DPM programs is not a good trend. I do not see the reason to study 1.5yrs for the MCAT, but I'm sure you had your reasons. Anyways, you have to figure out what you want to do. You have to realize that by committing to Podiatry, you will only be treating the lower extremities' issues for the entirety of your professional career.