What would you do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ST8MENT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I'll give you a little background. I have OI which means my bones break a lot. I have the mildest form so it's livable... only had 22 fractures and 9 surgeries. But anyways, once I couldn't start playing sports with everyone I quickly became one of those smart kids that think they are king. I got to college assuming I could coast through with another 4.0 which I didn't I have a 3.4 cumulative and a 3.55 science. Being the idiot that I am I took the MCAT completely unprepared. I got a 20 5V 8P 7B... I felt like my life was over... I took it about 6 weeks after. So I studied for 2 weeks after I got my score... basically just improving verbal reasoning and I got a 24 with all 8's. I applied to 3 DO schools because I am ridiculously poor and couldn't afford to pay anything extra. I am roughly 15000 dollars in debt from student loans once I graduate in May. I was accepted to Midwesterns one year Post Bacc. I have been given a scribe position full time for about 9 dollars an hour in STL. And I am still on the waitlist for KCOM. I would probably do the midwestern post bacc except I had someone open a credit card in my name, still dealing with that, can't even open a new credit card to boost my credit. So once the stafford loans go through I am assuming I'll be 15000 short on paying for the post bacc... I have no cosigner. My end goal is a DO orthopod. Because I have student loans and I have ATLEAST a year until I matriculate into medschool I am assuming my grace period will be up while I would be working. Also if I do the post bacc and end up not getting in I am 50k more in the hole. What are your suggestions. Should I just live with my mom for a year in her tiny apartment and find a job that pays decent. Should I do the scribe job in the lou. Or go to chicago midwestern? What would you do?