Dismiss Notice
Last chance to give your feedback! Fill out the 2019 SDN Member Survey to let us know what's important to you (and win prizes!)

When do I apply?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by markk122, Mar 8, 2007.

1. markk122

2+ Year Member

I am currently a freshman biochemistry major and am planning on applying to a few pharmacy schools. I know I should apply early but when is early? Obviously next year sometime, but in the spring? the fall - after another semester? I would idealy like to complete my per-requisits in two years. So when should I apply?

2. cycloketocaine

7+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    When are you eligible to apply? When will you have your pre reqs completed? If the answer to that is Fall 08, then the PharmCAS (most schools use it) system opens June 1. I would apply ASAP after that deadline, especially to the rolling admission schools. If the schools that you are interested in don't use rolling, then you can turn it in on the deadline date, and still have as good a chance as any at getting in. Also, take your PCAT ASAP. That way, if you don't do well, you can take it again soon enough that schools won't be full when they get your second set of scores. Hope this helps.

3. KUMoose

KUMoose Grumpy old man
    7+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    Have your application, all admissions/PharmCAS essays and more importantly your letters of recs done in March or April, so when PharmCAS opens 1 JUN (I think that's the day) you can submit all your base information.

While you don't have to submit the same day, the sooner the better. That generally allows you to get the additional application done well before the ED deadline.

If PharmCAS hasn't changed their morbidly stupid system, you still can only do one ED site, so chose wisely; I would go so far as to make sure you have a personal report with the admissions dean/committee at that school.

4. OP
    OP
    markk122

2+ Year Member