When should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

michelle_is_me

Accepted Pharmacy Student
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Need some SDN-er help here...

I'm currently a third-yr student and going on to 4th yr in a Canadian university.... I didnt do very well in my pre-reqs (~3.0gpa) and my faculty does not allow any re-take.

I didnt really start trying hard in school until this yr, but by now I'm pretty much done all pre-reqs.... so my only hopes right now are to 1) do well on my OAT, 2) do well on the rest of the courses and 3) volunteer!

I am planning on starting to volunteer this summer and write my OAT in August.

My question is, I know everybody keeps on saying to get ur application in ASAP... but what if I know that I'll be trying harder in my 4th yr, should I wait till say Dec to send it in so they can see that I am improving? and have garnered more volunteer experiences? or should I just send it in August anyways?

Members don't see this ad.

My advice is to send in your application as soon as possible. As long as you have a solid transcript, which it sounds like you do, it is important to get that app in as soon as they accept them due to the rolling admissions policy. Why? All of your previous grades will be on your transcript anyway. I think that if you wait, you are just delaying the process. I don't think it matters so much that you are IMPROVING but that you did decently well on all your pre-reqs. Usually, the majority of the pre-reqs are important to the admissions committee. I handed in my app without my OAT score at the beginning of September, when my opt school started accepting them. I didn't take the exam until February. Handing in your app early shows that you have motivation to become an optometrist and that you're on top of things. Nothing much good comes from waiting, at least that's what I think. Hope this helps.