When should I take the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cathleenko42

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone - I'm an undergrad Junior right now looking to enter Med School immediately following graduation. (Fall 2011) I'm trying to decide when to take the MCAT. I'm told most people take it "spring of their Junior year", but I feel that if I took it during the school year I wouldn't have time to adequately prepare, but if I put it off until June or July I will be hurting my chances at acceptance. I'm thinking about taking it in January, but I worry that might be too soon, especially since I won't have had Biochemistry yet, which I'm told is good MCAT prep.

Any advice?

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone - I'm an undergrad Junior right now looking to enter Med School immediately following graduation. (Fall 2011) I'm trying to decide when to take the MCAT. I'm told most people take it "spring of their Junior year", but I feel that if I took it during the school year I wouldn't have time to adequately prepare, but if I put it off until June or July I will be hurting my chances at acceptance. I'm thinking about taking it in January, but I worry that might be too soon, especially since I won't have had Biochemistry yet, which I'm told is good MCAT prep.

Any advice?

Thank you!!

If you don't want to take it during the school year then I think your only option is taking it in January. I don't recommend taking it in June or August because you want to get applications in as early as possible. Then again, I think you'll be pressed for time if you want to write in January--unless of course you prepped hardcore over the winter break and started doing content review very soon.