When to have a baby??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Roses

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice from some women in the OB/GYN field. I am a 2nd year medical student, who just got married. I want to go into obstetrics and gyn., and I need to know when is the "best" time to have a baby?
3rd year
4th year - and if so, what do interviewers think when they see a pregnant interviewee?
Residency???
I would prefer not to wait until after residency to have my first child.

Thanks for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think that there is a "best" time to have a baby. I know plenty of medical students having babies throughout medical school. I also know of OB/GYN residents having their 1st babies during 3rd year. Don't know if this is the greatest time either, since this is a major surgery year. I wouldn't want to miss ANYTHING from 3rd year of residency. I mean, you are the primary surgeon on most cases. Of course, I will have no choice about the time to have a baby. It will be sometime AFTER residency, since I don't see the hubby anywhere in sight. ;)

One of my friends seemed to time it pretty well. She and her husband got pregnant in march of 3rd year and she had her baby before residency interviews got underway. you could just schedule your lighter rotations at the end of 3rd year and beginning of 4th year. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)