When to take the MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

barcamdphd21

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Right now I am a freshman premed. Since I received 47 credits because of the ap tests, I am currently taking Organic Chemistry and University Physics (calculus based) and i am doing well. Nex semester I'll be taking Oganic Chemistry II, University Physics II-III (Its a combined class of electromagnetism and fluid dynamics) and Biochemistry. My question is, when should I take the MCAT? I was thinking on taking the summer to study for the MCAT and take it at the begining of my sophomore year while the material is still fresh in my mind.
Or should I wait until the end of my sophomore year to take it? If that is the case, what other extra classes can I take on my sophomore year that will help me on the test. What I am afraid is that it will take me longer to review the material from Organic chemistry if i wait until my sophomore year.
Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

be careful about the ap credits. I too came in with loads of ap credits and had to retake the core science classes (general bio, general chem, etc.) because A LOT of medical schools do not accept the ap credit. I suggest you research schools you might be interested in and see if they accept the ap credit or not. I just wen the safe route and retook the classes. Good luck and congrats on your AP scores!!!

As early as you have covered all the material and feel comfortable doing so. If you will be done with organic chemistry and physics by the summer, then there's no reason why you couldn't use the summer to get the test over with.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi everyone,