Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Where did you take your prerequisite classes?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by konp, Apr 2, 2018.

1. konp

Hello everyone!

I am mapping out how I should take my prerequisite classes for pharmacy school. I have a Bachelors and did decently as an undergrad, GPA was decent. I worked for a few years after undergrad (or a long time you can put it, >5 years) and now I want to return to get the PharmD degree at a pharmacy school.

My question is where did you all take your prerequisite classes for pharmacy school applications? Did you take it at a local community college?

And did any of you complete a post baccalaureate program? Thanks!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. everyone one sees B

everyone one sees B recognize this ochem mech? haha

Pre-Pharmacy
    Hey!

I took all my pre-reqs at my 4 year university except my public speaking and statistics requirements, which I did at a CC. I would think that you’d be much more competitive if you took your science courses at a 4 year university but people have gotten into schools taking all their prerequisites at a CC also, so there’s that.

#2 everyone one sees B, Apr 3, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
  4. SwolePharmacist

Pre-Pharmacy
    Hi Konp,

I highly recommend taking all your major science courses (all your chemistry courses, and the more complex bio courses,) at a 4 year university, as mentioned above. As for the electives, it won't matter where you take them.

I personally took half of my electives and some biology at a community college, but made sure to complete all my CHEMISTRY courses at a 4 year uni. They didn't ask me about it in the interview, everything went great!