Status
Not open for further replies.

humtum

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Oct 11, 2004
Status
hey guys

I have a qeustion? I am actually a pharmacy student but if I don't get into pharmacy school, my back up plan is to try dentistry. I have so many qeustions?
first where do I start from?
I will be graduating with my BA degree in biology...When should I take DAT and how long I have to study before I can take them?
Which school are easy to get in and which are hard?

I have a gpa about 2.7 and I am sure I can pull it up in another semester or so. I just had very bad family and financial situation, which made my grades go down the drain.

I will really appreciate any reply and any additional info to guide me
thank you

Rezdawg

1K Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Sep 29, 2003
Houston
Visit site
Status
Dentist
Just curious, how do you see getting into dental school as a "backup" plan if you dont get into pharmacy school? I dont think its as simple as you may think.

The main thing that stands out is your GPA. To be honest, that is too low. I have almost a 3.1 and 2.9 science, with a pretty good DAT score, and it took me 2 years to get into just 1 dental school.

Therefore, my advice would be to possibly to a post-bac or maybe even take a bunch of upper level science courses, and do well in them. You need to get your grades up and prove to the adcoms that you are capable of it.

As for the DAT, a good amount of time to study is 2-3 months.

Good luck.

grinningrice

Clean your dentures!
10+ Year Member
Nov 5, 2004
Cleveland so does not rock....
Status
humtum said:
hey guys

I have a qeustion? I am actually a pharmacy student but if I don't get into pharmacy school, my back up plan is to try dentistry. I have so many qeustions?
I will be graduating with my BA degree in biology...When should I take DAT and how long I have to study before I can take them?