Where do I start

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

richichi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I attended UC Santa Cruz in 1995 for 3 years. I have 103 credits (I think those are quarter credits, not semester credits). I finished all of my lower classes and some of my classes for a Biology BS Major. I plan on applying these credits toward another 4 year school in my current town, San Diego.

I want to work with animals, most likely as a veterinarian but I really just want to get out of the work I'm doing now, computer work. I've been doing IT systems work now for about 9 years. I'm ready to move onto something I'm more passionate about which is helping people, animals, and science.

I'm kind of torn on where to really start. So far I've got my official transcripts from UCSC, applied to almost all the animal shelters I could find with a google search in my area to volunteer. The one I've gone to so far, Helen Woodward, says you need experience with horses to volunteer in the equine hospital, I don't have any formal experience with animals on any job, other than just owning pets and riding horses as a kid. I really want to just get my hands dirty in the field and find out what interests me.

Is volunteering at animal shelters the way to start? There's also a Project Wildlife in San Diego that I put an app in to volunteer. I work M-F 8:30-5:30 so most of my volunteer work has to been nights or on the weekends for now. I also want to shadow an equine vet but...do I just look one up and call them and give them my story and ask to shadow?

Part 2. to my question is about schools. It seems like the only 4 year schools within my budget around here are UCSD and CSUSM. But it looks like I have to wait until Fall 2010 to start classes. That's over a year away! I REALLY want to start taking classess toward my BIO degree or even pre-vet as soon as possible. Where can I look to start doing that?