Where should I apply with these stats:

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedQuest

Da Truth
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Overall undergrad GPA is 3.47 and don't know science GPA i need to figure it out. Waiting for AUGUST MCAT results. Played Div 1 Football. Several athletic and academic honors. Shadowed/assisted a Doctor for about 4 months now. Currently enrolled in graduated school. I am also a URM, fluent in spanish and California Resident. Any suggestions on were i have a chance? What kind of MCAT score do i need. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I guess nobody wants to help :(

I'm no expert, but I'd say that a lot depends on your MCAT score. Your grades are okay, and your ECs sound great. I'm sure that you don't need me to tell you that most schools would love to increase their URM representation. So my guess is, if you score well on the MCAT (say, above 30-33) you will actually be recruited a bit by some schools. As a California resident, you'll have a ton of state schools to choose from; if I were you I'd apply to them all. Then, depending on the MCAT, I might also apply to some private schools.

One question: you're not planning to apply this year, are you? Although you're a qualified applicant, and it's certainly not too late, the applications cycle has been going for a while now and lots of people are already doing interviews. If you wait till next year and get your AMCAS in early (like in June) I think you'll have a lot more options.

But these are just the opinions of one man. Anyone else?

Members don't see this ad :)