Where should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

masterwares

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So below are my stats. Please let me know if this is competitive enough, and where I should apply for a high acceptance chance.

3.6GPA, 29 on the MCAT

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Minor in Emergency Health Services

Peer Health Educator, basically I volunteer and help with public health campaigns around
campus.
2nd Year Officer in the Pre-Medical Society
4k For Cancer Rider, biked across the USA and helped raise $500k for charity.
Member, Fire Department for 2 years, EMTB.
Member, Cycling Team

I've also volunteered at the hospital a few times and shadowed a few doctors.

I'm a Maryland resident.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I've also volunteered at the hospital a few times and shadowed a few doctors.

I recommend you boost your medical experience significantly while you are applying in order to be taken more seriously by admissions committees. By the sound of it, it doesn't seem like you have a significant amount of exposure to medicine.

I was under the impression that volunteering as an EMT was counting as exposure to medicine…

To be more specific, I have around 2 years x at least 8 hours a week x 9 months when i'm in school = around 500 hours volunteering as an EMT.

I have volunteered for a year in a hospital for about 100-200 hours of that. Volunteered in the med/surg ward, ER, and oncology wards.

Shadowed an osteopathic surgeon for 30 hours.

I need to do some more shadowing definitely.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was under the impression that volunteering as an EMT was counting as exposure to medicine…

To be more specific, I have around 2 years x at least 8 hours a week x 9 months when i'm in school = around 500 hours volunteering as an EMT.