Where to apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentite24

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

I was wondering if I could get some feedback on where to apply?
I am an Ohio resident (from the Appalachian area) and went to a state school in Ohio.
- Biology major, chemistry minor
- 4.0 GPA
- 21 AA, 20 TS, 20 PAT
- fairly average to above average extracurriculars and rest of application
I have narrowed my choices to (in decreasing order according to where I want to go):
Ohio State (2 LORs, not very strict on from who)
Pitt (3 LORs, not very strict on from who)
Indiana (3 LORs- 2 science, 1 non-science)
Kentucky (3 LORs- 2 faculty, 1 dentist)
West Virginia (3 LORs- 1 bio, 1 chem, 1 physics professor)
Louisville- (3 LORs- at least 2 science)
I think I can get 1 strong letter from a chem professor, 1 from my boss, 1 from my research professor (not my professor for my class, though), and 1 from my adviser.
After that, I don't think I can get very strong letters at all just because I have not really engaged with these people all that often: 1 from a bio professor and 1 dentist maybe...

Each extra school is like $175-200 (primary, supplemental, transcript), so it can really get to be expensive. Based on my LOR situation (I really don't want to submit weaker LORs if I do not have to...), fees, and how likely it is for me to get in to each school (based on where I am from), where do you guys think I should apply to? I am just trying to get a lot of opinions.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello SDN,

I was wondering if I could get some feedback on where to apply?
I am an Ohio resident (from the Appalachian area) and went to a state school in Ohio.
- Biology major, chemistry minor
- 4.0 GPA
- 21 AA, 20 TS, 20 PAT
- fairly average to above average extracurriculars and rest of application
I have narrowed my choices to (in decreasing order according to where I want to go):