Where to do rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

therhinoceros

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize if this has been answered elsewhere, but I was not able to find it using the search function. I am currently a second year medical student. We will be submitting our clinical campus requests for third year in the next couple of weeks, and my school is affiliated with a few hospitals. We have been asked to rank the hospitals based on where we would like to work. Being interested in a competitive specialty has made it difficult for me to decide how to rank the hospitals.

Hospital A is known to give students much more free time to study, and as a whole the students perform better on the shelf exams. Compared to the other hospitals, students who work at hospital A also receive a greater percentage of honors. However, compared to hospital B, students receive far less clinical experience, and are much more hands off. Although the students at Hospital B love their experience, and are able to do much more than the standard med student, as a whole they receive lower scores on their shelf exams, and their letters are less "glowing." The other hospital we are associated with somewhere in between, but much closer to hospital B.

Would it be to my benefit to work at the easier hospital and honor more classes (this could help me clinch AOA), or get the hands on experience and learn more medicine at the other hospital?

Members don't see this ad.