Where to take pre-reqs in DC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PizzaButt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a non-traditional, second career, 30-year-old, married prospective PhD clinical psych applicant, and I need to get my pre-reqs done in DC, where I live. However, I'm new to DC and am not sure where I should take them. I'm thinking UDC, GW, Georgetown or American--or somewhere else? Anyone have any advice for me?

Members don't see this ad.

but when I needed to take pre-reqs here in NYC, I just went to the websites of different schools I knew of, looked at the class schedules for the next semester (summer and fall schedules should be up by now) and just picked the school that had the class I needed at the time I needed. I work full-time, so I was restricted in my options.

Yeah, that's what I did when I took my pre-med pre-reqs, but I'd love to get info from people on good professors, etc. Plus, it seems like there's a pretty big variation in courses at the different schools. Some schools have abnormal psych as a 100 level; others have it as a 300-level. So I'm confused as to what to do about that. Different schools have different 100 level course--for some, it's developmental, for others, abnormal. I'm confused about what I should be taking, because some of the schools I want to apply to in the Insider's Guide say "psych major or equivalent" so I'm not sure how to approach this given the "equivalent" part.

Members don't see this ad :)
There's also Northern Virginia Community College, which you might want to take a look at...

Oh, and Catholic and Marymount.

I'd look into Univ of MD too.

Is anyone an undergrad in DC or have any experiences with these schools?

When I did my post-bacc it was very helpful to talk to people to figure out which school was the best one to do the pre-reqs at. I'd like to do the same in this case too.