Which career path is the best to become a clinician?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which career path is the best to become a clinician?

• Clinical or Counseling Ph.D. program --> Licensed Psychologist

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Masters in Social Work program ---> LCSW

Votes: 2 40.0%
  • Masters in Counseling program ---> Ph.D. program ---> Licensed Psychologist

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters

teal.gem

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I will be applying to grad schools this fall for the first time and I am confused because I don't know which path after graduation would be worth my time and energy the most, and would be able to give me the most ROI.

A little about me: I will be graduating this Fall with my B.A. in Psychology and I want to work as a clinician in private practice. I have 2 years of research experience, 1 poster, a senior thesis and a couple of posters on the way, and a couple months of clinical experience. Lastly, I want to be able to be in a financially safe place in 10 years and provide good therapy.

I currently have a few options for which path I should take:

1. Clinical or Counseling Ph.D. program --> Licensed Psychologist
2. Masters in Social Work program ---> LCSW
3. Masters in Counseling program ---> Ph.D. program ---> Licensed Psychologist

I am worried that I will not get into a PhD program on the first try (which is very likely) and will waste a couple of years reapplying to get in but I think that a PhD program will give me adequate knowledge and training to work as a clinician. I think that getting a MSW to become a LCSW is a good alternative, but I am afraid that it will limit me as a clinician and might make it harder to get clients.