Which class should I take to be prepared for MCAT 2015?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bagger288

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Sophomore biology major this semester. I have an extra slot in my schedule that I want to fill with a course that will help me be more prepared for the MCAT 2015 version. My plan is to take all my pre-reqs before summer 2016 and take the MCAT during summer 2016. I'm on track to complete most of the pre-reqs by next semester (including organic chemistry, psych, soc, physics, statistics and biochemistry). To fill up my extra slot, would it be most useful for me to take a nutrition course, a medical ethics course, a humanities course (anthropology, etc.), a philosophy course, etc. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If you are talking about science courses, then: Microbiology, I imagine, would be a good one. Physiology for sure.
If you are talking about assorted other courses... I'd have to say a psychology style class. (I don't lump psych into science classes)

A research/methodology course, or philosophy, which will both help your analysis skills (for different reasons).

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
In my opinion, the MCAT isn't really content-intensive. You have to know things, sure, but having practice to develop critical thinking skills will be the most beneficial.

Provided you have a solid foundation in all four sections, I would honestly take whatever interests you the most. Medical ethics or philosophy sound interesting (to me) and would simultaneously develop your thinking skills.

If you lack a foundation in any of the above (perhaps look up a list of topics and see if you are weak in any), and wouldn't be comfortable self-teaching through content review, then take a course in that direction. If you are majoring in some form of Biology or Chemistry, you should have a decent enough foundation.

Reactions: 1 users