Xcited392

10+ Year Member
Mar 18, 2008
Status
Hello,

I'm a post-bacc student. I was a non-science major, took the pre-reqs, but am taking classes to bump my sciGPA.

So, I'm deciding on these two classes for the fall: Quantitative Analytical Chemistry or Immunology/Medical Micro.

I want to take the quantitative chemistry class, because I did poorly in general chemistry, and even though I did better in Orgo, I feel I need to show improvement by taking a class that builds off of the fundamentals of gen chem. Note: I will be taking Biochemistry as well, but that class will not help me improve my weaknesses in the inorganic/physical chem stuff. I've heard that the quantitative chemistry has very long and tedious labs, and since I'll have a somewhat heavy courseload, I don't know if this quant class is worth it.

The Immunology course is the class I'm most interested in. Between Immunology and Quantitative, I'd rather take the former.

So, which one should I take?

May 27, 2009
Status
Medical Student
I've taken both courses at my school. Quant chem is much more challenging than general chemistry. The calculations are more tedious and you're going to become best friends with acids and bases. My quant lab was definitely more time-consuming that I thought it would be, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

I found immunology much more interesting and I think this course will be more helpful in med school. However, I took quant chem before the MCAT and it was useful just because the gen chem on the MCAT much easier.

Maybe take immunology this fall, considering your tough schedule, and then quant chem in the spring?

Xcited392

10+ Year Member
Mar 18, 2008
Status
Thanks for your thoughts and advice.