Which one to take first? CK or CS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MairaO

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I was planning to take step 2 early next year and was wondering which one to take first? Or does it even make a difference? any advice will be really appreciated. :) thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

For each person it varies. I took them both early for these reasons. I did well third year and figured I would do well on step 2 as well. I wanted to take at as close to third year as possible so I studied for 2.5 weeks after third year and took step 2 ck. I took step 2 cs one week after because of lot of knowledge needed for step 2 cs (ie, differential dx for certain complaints) was learned for step 2 cs. Also, I am going into peds and will not be seeing adults at all during fourth year so I wanted to take step 2 cs as close to third year as possible while I still was comfortable doing an exam on an adult.

It probably doesnt matter which you take first. I liked taking cs second because studying for step 2 cs was much easier after spending 2 weeks doing intense studying for ck.

People that do really well on step 1 and want to go into derm, ortho, rads, etc often push step 2 ck back until after interviews so they do not risk getting a bad score that could hurt their chances of matching. I think this is pretty stupid because I have been told that once you start interviews, you lose all academic motivation and it is pretty hard to sit for 2 weeks and study for step 2 ck in January.

So you have to decide what is right for you. Good luck.

scholes said: