msgeorgeeliot

Licensed Psychologist
Nov 16, 2017
I am being as genuine and constructive as I can in writing this post.

Like many of you, I am a licensed psychologist who provides CBT as an expertly trained clinician. I am also unapologetic about my feminist perspective, my passion for social justice issues, and my stubborn optimism that we can actually get some **** done if we waste less time playing “who’s the smartest?” on an anonymous message board.

I am under the impression that, given these traits, I am not especially welcome in the broader culture of this online community. My perception is my responsibility, and I can choose where to spend my time.

I would like to spend some of it here. But I am getting clearer, based on the evidence generated in the last year, that my contributions and questions are more likely than not to evoke dismissiveness, condescending reality checks, and goading to be pedantically precise to earn the right to be addressed with respect.

I was the OP on the Epstein thread. I had a specific question about whether others were aware of systemic interventions in this new and socially urgent realm of institutional betrayal. I worked diligently to avoid taking the bait when responses were clearly more about the respondent’s ego than my specific question.

Seriously, y’all. It’s fine to not reply at all, or to say “I don’t know the research or have an especially informed opinion, but I’m interested in this discussion.” It’s totally ok to not know and to also show interest in others who might know more about a niche than you do.

My perception of the “wheat” of the thread is as follows: “This issue is important, it’s really hard to influence these systems, and we don’t really know how to be of meaningful help at this juncture.” That feedback is valuable to me because it informs my research and professional networking on this very specific topic.

The “chaff” is everything else. It’s a lot.