Which position should I take to best improve my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nemmalie

Reaction score
Hello,
I am only just beginning my journey towards applying to vet school. I'm preparing to leave my current career (Environmental consultant) and have been looking for jobs in the veterinary field. Before I can apply, I'll have to go back to school to fulfill some prerequisites and get real-life experience. Today I interviewed at two places for vastly different positions and would like advice on which would better help me in my eventual application to vet school. As of now, I have no formal clinic experience.

Previous animal experience:
3 years 'interning' (AKA under the table paid) at a dog training studio while I was in college. Learned great training techniques, some dog handling techniques, and also took care of the nitty-gritty cleaning up messes and keeping classes organized. Sometimes I got to lead lessons.​
6 months volunteering in a shelter with cats. Sadly I had to quit so quickly because I didn't have a car and my bus route got canceled.​
~9 months volunteering 4 hours on Saturdays at an animal clinic when I was a senior in high school. (I'm 26 now though so that was like 8 years ago, I hardly remember anything specific)​
~4 years off and on helping rescues with adopting events from when I was in middle school through high school.​
Now onto the positions. I've only interviewed at these so far, no offers yet.

Position 1: Veterinary Assistant at a GP clinic