Cranjis McBasketball

5+ Year Member
Jul 20, 2015
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Whats up guys? So I am new to this thread and need some advice on which scenario would be the best to take.

So in January I will be taking Ochem 1 and Bio 2. I want to know if it is better if I start studying for the DAT in January and take it in April (without taking Ochem 2 and while taking Ochem 1 and Bio 2) ORRRR waiting until after the semester and then studying for the DAT while taking Ochem 2 in the summer. I would probably take the DAT in June with this 2nd scenario.

The reason I ask is because, with the first scenario, I would be able to turn in my application with a DAT score right away, BUT I probably won't do as well as I could have if I had waited. While the 2nd scenario I would get a better score on the DAT, but the schools wouldn't get my DAT score until July. Which scenario would be the best? I have about a 3.5 GPA and a 3.5 Science GPA as well.

Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated. THANKS!

cacajuate

5+ Year Member
Aug 27, 2012
Status (Visible)
Take orgo 2 before you take DAT. I'd advise to have A&P, genetics, micro bio, molecular/cell BIO before. Makes DAT a lot more manageable with those classes finished.

pgex2t

2+ Year Member
Sep 19, 2015
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student
You can submit your app before you take your DATs. It takes one month-ish+ after submitting (for this current cycle) to verify your gpa depending on when you submitted and around 2 weeks for your DAT score to be verified. Take your DAT when you are ready; even if you submit in early July, it won't adversely affect your application too much.

About the Ads
This thread is more than 5 years old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons:

1. Your new thread title is very short, and likely is unhelpful.
  2. Your reply is very short and likely does not add anything to the thread.