Who uses Electric Toothbrushes? Are they bad for you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PumpNO2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am thinking of buying an electric sonicare or oralB since I heard about how great they are but I also hear that it messes up your teeth as well (tearing the enamel and messing up the gums), is this true? I really want one of those electric toothbrushes, I think they are cool:p

Members don't see this ad.

I use a sonicare and I get nothing but praise from the dentist when I go in.

I am thinking of buying an electric sonicare or oralB since I heard about how great they are but I also hear that it messes up your teeth as well (tearing the enamel and messing up the gums), is this true? I really want one of those electric toothbrushes, I think they are cool:p

Ya Ive been using a sonic OralB for a couple years and its great. If anything i would think it causes less damage in terms of tooth brush abrasion because you dont need to "scrub" as hard with the sonics (not that you should be scrubbing hard with a regular toothbrush, but most people do)...they just do the work for you and seem to work better when lighter pressure is applied. I'm not sure if there is any literature that says otherwise, but I find them nice. Plus they last long...ive had mine for a couple years and it still works perfect, although the replacement heads are expensive.

Members don't see this ad :)
I've used oral-b and sonicare and I like the sonicare. It uses a natural brushing motion, only at sonic speeds. Plus you can really brush your tongue well with it, while not so much with the oral-b rotating head. I feel like I just got out of the dentist chair when I use the sonicare. Highly recommend :thumbup: