Why are you guys majoring in biology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vespertilio

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Serious question, why?

I just got accepted into a bio program, but I'm wondering why other people are. Is it because that is your main interest?

Is it so you're better prepared for the MCAT?

Is it so you're better prepared for med school since they'll have similar material (I Think)?

Why not major in something else that is also a good back up degree in-case the med field doesn't work out?

Is it because it's easy?

Members don't see this ad.

yes to all of your questions
easier major = higher gpa
also i will add -
- easier oportunity to find research oportunities
- flexible degree requirements
majoring in other field is not viable for me since I am hellbent on going to professional schools.

I majored in math because I figured it would be useful if I don't get into medical school. I haven't been able to take any useful classes so my degree is going to be useless in the "real world" and on top of that I've come to disdain certain fields of mathematics. If I could go back in time, I would major in biology. It's interesting, it's good MCAT preparation, and, for the most part, it's easy.

Members don't see this ad :)
Because all my friends were doing it.

yes to all of your questions
easier major = higher gpa
also i will add -
- easier oportunity to find research oportunities
- flexible degree requirements
majoring in other field is not viable for me since I am hellbent on going to professional schools.

Makes sense. Wouldn't a degree in exercise science or kinesthesiology be just as useful? I'm debating degree options.