Why have I been so unpopular in my clinical classes and how can I fix that? (I'm autistic)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I'm not going to lie -- until years after I graduated from undergrad in 2013, I resented premeds (I didn't tell this to their face) and I never really got well with them because in my mind, I was always going to be a researcher, crystallize proteins and work in a lab and all that good stuff. I was naturally inquisitive and I always tried to understand an underlying idea or concept or connect ideas together especially if the lecturer mentioned something that made it seem they might be related where I thought they hadn't been before. (I think the latter is especially my worst trait.)

I started getting hospitalized in my last year of school and after school because I had PTSD (interacting with undiagnosed autism) that was misdiagnosed as schizoaffective disorder and this only started getting rectified in 2015. (I'm not going to blame the medical system because I kind of tried to delete all my childhood trauma at the age of ten and I kind of believed I was fine for a long time.) Now that I've received appropriate treatment and I'm a lot better, I also have a chip on my shoulder about "changing the system!!11!" from being hospitalized so frequently and that's 50% of my reason for attempting to enter psychiatry. I really try to hide this from my peers in class, because it's not an agenda that seems really popular or a popular motivation for being a premed, but it comes out in unexpected ways.