This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FuturePT8921

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! This is my first time posting and I was hoping you all can help me understand what went wrong. I'm really feeling down about the way my admission cycle went. I though I had a strong application however many schools didn't think so. How can I improve?

Major: Exercise Science
Overall GPA: 3.89
Science GPA: 3.62
Self Reported Pre-req: 3.68
GRE: 155 Q 150 V 3.0 W

Hours: 450 in outpatient, nursing home, sports rehab, acute care. Physical Therapy Tech at hospital at the acute care setting. I only worked for a couple of weeks when I applied though.

Extra Curricular: Habit for Humanity, Psychology Club, Kinesiology Club, Various church involvements.

Recs: 3 PTs, 1 Pre-PT advisor

Applied: TWU, Texas Tech, UTMB, UIW, UTHSCSA, UTEP, ASU, Hardin Simmons, UNT
Rejected: UTMB, UTHSCSA, UNT,

Acceptances: ASU

Members don't see this ad.

Seems like a success story to me. You got in after all. Into a state school no less, am I right?
We can play pin the tail on the donkey all day but does it really matter? Was it a late application submission? Was it lackluster letters of recs? Was it bad interview skills?
Who knows and should you care? You are going to become a physical therapist.

Reactions: 2 users
Your GPA is above average and should have been high enough to get into all but the most competitive schools. That said, your PT application is like a ship that needs to float -- if there's a hole in it somewhere, it will sink your whole application, even if some other part of it is really good. The whole process can seem incredibly arbitrary.

Did you interview at these schools you were rejected from? How'd that go? Some schools put an incredible amount of weight on the interviews and if you're someone who struggles with them (I do), they can be easy to blow.