Why is an extreme opposite to what's predicted never statistically significant in one tail-test?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Acronym1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you predict a result in one direction and it goes extreme in the other direction, does that not by itself suggest the opposite of your hypothesis is true, by a statistical significance, since it's extreme and therefore by definition passing statistical randomness?

For instance, if one predicts that taking a certain pill will make people healthier (one way direction) and it shows that they get much worse, why isn't the extreme in the other direction sufficient for statistical significance in your experiment?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm going to attempt to answer this, but I'm still an undergraduate student so I would wait on an answer from a professor or someone with a lot more experience in stats.

As I understand it, the difference between a one-tailed and two-tailed test is how you distribute your alpha value on the two ends of the normal curve (in your example, much healthier or much worse). So in a two-tailed test with an alpha of .05, you are actually splitting that .05 between the ends. Therefore, each end has .025 area of significance.