Why Optometry and not Ophthalmology??

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Batlauren

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey fellow pre-optometry students!! I'm just curious as to what's going to end up on this thread. (no Rosanna, you don't have to post me a novel--I already know your reasons ;) ) As for everyone else, post away!!

P.S. ICO finally sent me my acceptance letter!! That took a lifetime!! I should have called the admissions office like rpames!!

Members don't see this ad.

Batlauren -- Congratulations on your ICO acceptance!!! :clap:

I chose optometry over ophthalmology because I like the lifestyle and opportunities available to optometrists, and also because I don't want to spend the next 900 years in school. Optometry is going to be a second career for me (I was a software engineer for several years) -- I chose it because I liked the combined clinical and social aspects of being able to help patients with eye care. I think surgery would be fascinating to go into from an academic perspective, but the trade-offs and sacrifices I'd have to make for medical school are not worth it for me at this point in my life. And frankly, I think I'll enjoy the day-to-day interactions with people who are looking for a comfortable contact lens a lot more than dealing with someone who needs emergency surgery to remove a tree branch from his eye. :p

In short, optometry rules! :D ;)

Congrats on your ICO acceptance. WE LOVE ICO!!

Anyhoo, there's a great thread about this on the opthal forum. check it out!

Eyegirl

Members don't see this ad :)
GO ICO!!!!