Why so malignant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wilf

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a psychiatry resident and recently we had an intern start a transition year with us after leaving Ob/Gyn because of how badly he was treated. He started on a Friday and that weekend he committed suicide. The question that plagues me is why are ob/gyn residencies so malignant? The work hours are bad enough but why do attendings **** on the residents and the upper residents **** on the lower ones? Seems stupid to me.

Members don't see this ad.

Geez. Hearing things like this scare me. I'm really considering OB but I'm hearing so many horror stories about residency...can anyone shed some light on this? I'm mean is it worth it?

The high acuity, long hours, potentially devastating outcomes are all contributing factors. Regardless, it's not like resident suicide is unique to OB GYN residents. There is a thread in the general section about a medicine intern committing suicide and most of the examples people bring up are about non OB GYN specialties.

It's a harder residency than most, no doubt, but I would say a general surgery residency is worse regarding hours and potential malignancy. I just finished a 4 year OB GYN residency and overall it was fine. There were some ups and downs but nothing atypical or abusive. The vast majority of residencies, including OB GYN, are like this. There will always be outliers but most of the time they are fairly obvious (ie inner city programs in New York etc).

Members don't see this ad :)